Rule Britannia. Not

It was an awful race day for the Brits at the F1 Grand Prix in Magny Cours, France, with Jenson Button again crashing out, David Coulthard having an uninspiring day for ninth and Lewis Hamilton’s drive-through penalty compounding the pain of a ten place grid drop at the start.

Hamilton looked ragged from the outset, trying to charge up through the field as quickly as possible, which not only caused his drive-through penalty – for making a move on Scuderia Torro Rosso’s Sebastian Vettel stick by cutting through a chicane – but it also saw him run into the back of his team mate Heikki Kovalainen.

McLaren believe that Hamtilon had passed Vettel and that he shouldn’t have been punished for the move.

It’s a tricky one, but even though I’m a Hamilton fan – hey, I’m British, what do you expect? – I think the punishment was just. The only reason he was passed Vettel in the first place was because he was carrying too much speed to make it through the chicane.

But he had to push, as there was no way he’d get where he wanted to go otherwise, so he’ll have to take it on the chin, put these last two races behind him, and focus on Silverstone in a couple of weeks.

And well, it’s better to have your two crap races in the middle of the year rather than at the end like last season.

Which all in all leaves Felipe Massa leading the championship from Kubica, Raikkonen and then Hamilton today after a faultless drive.

It was great to see Toyota’s Jarno Trulli drive a well executed third place, and Renault’s Nelson Piquet Jnr must have been chuffed to bits over taking team mate Fernando Alonso.

Here’s the full results:

1 Felipe Massa Ferrari
2 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari
3 Jarno Trulli Toyota
4 Heikki Kovalainen McLaren-Mercedes
5 Robert Kubica BMW Sauber
6 Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault
7 Nelsinho Piquet Renault
8 Fernando Alonso Renault
9 David Coulthard Red Bull-Renault
10 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes
11 Timo Glock Toyota
12 Sebastian Vettel STR-Ferrari
13 Nick Heidfeld BMW Sauber
14 Rubens Barrichello Honda
15 Kazuki Nakajima Williams-Toyota
16 Nico Rosberg Williams-Toyota
17 Sebastien Bourdais STR-Ferrari
18 Giancarlo Fisichella Force India-Ferrari
19 Adrian Sutil Force India-Ferrari
Ret Jenson Button Honda

Comments are now closed

I hope sooner or later he would be worthy of our expectations… I hope so….

Report this comment