D(iffuser)-Day

Today is the day that the FIA’s International Court of Appeal meets at its headquarters in Paris to work out whether the controversial double-deck diffusers are legal or not.

The teams at the sharp-end of the hooha are current Constructor title-leaders Brawn GP and second placed Toyota, along with Williams.

If you’re in any doubt about what the controversy is, Formula1.com have some great tech sketches up explaining it all.

Whichever way the court of appeal goes, it is sure to have a major impact on this season’s title fight.

If the diffusers are ruled legal, then all of the remaining teams will have a huge task on their hands in catching up.

They are sure to all be working on a similar solution to those three mentioned teams – BMW’s team boss Mario Theissen has admitted as such only this morning – but they’ll still struggle to get all-new bits on the cars before the fifth race of the season, in Spain on May 10th.

I know we’ve talked about this quite a bit already on here, but seeing as we’ll find out tomorrow afternoon what the real skinny is, I thought I’d kick off a bit of debate.

Personally, I think they’ll be declared legal – as the ambiguity of the rules is open to large interpretation – yet the FIA will close the loophole for 2010.

I also think the other teams who are saying that double-deck diffusers are not within the ‘spirit of the rules’ are actually just kicking themselves for not going down that road.

All of the teams have been outside the spirit of the rules at one time or other, that’s part of F1, pushing the boundaries, being clever where others aren’t. But then for all this you need to remember one thing – Ferrari have a single-deck diffuser. Cynical? Moi?

Where do you stand?

UPDATE: The diffusers have been declared legal by the Court of Appeal, so that’s catch-up time for everyone else who isn’t running one. How many teams do you think will have one on their cars come Friday practice this week? I’d say McLaren, BMW and Ferrari (even though they’ve previously said they won’t).

Comments are now closed