Webber takes Spanish GP pole

Mark Webber saw off the challenge of Red Bull team-mate Sebastian Vettel to claim a dramatic pole position for the Spanish Grand Prix in Barcelona.

The two Red Bull cars remained in a class of their own, with Webber and Vettel going head-to-head for top spot, and this time it was the Australian who emerged marginally the faster, emulating his Malaysian qualifying triumph.

Lewis Hamilton proved to be best of the rest, albeit nearly a second adrift of Webber, but managed to fend off former McLaren team-mate Fernando Alonso for the inside of row two. Jenson Button and Michael Schumacher share the third row after neither lived up to earlier promise, while Robert Kubica put his Renault ahead of the second Mercedes of Nico Rosberg.

Felipe Massa and Kamui Kobayashi complete to top 10.

1. Mark Webber Australia Red Bull-Renault 1m 19.995s

2. Sebastian Vettel Germany Red Bull-Renault 1m 20.101s

3. Lewis Hamilton Britain McLaren-Mercedes 1m 20.829s

4. Fernando Alonso Spain Ferrari-Ferrari 1m 20.937s

5 Jenson Button Britain McLaren-Mercedes 1m 20.991s

6. Michael Schumacher Germany Mercedes-Mercedes 1m 21.294s

7. Robert Kubica Poland Renault-Renault 1m 21.353s

8. Nico Rosberg Germany Mercedes-Mercedes 1m 21.408s

9. Felipe Massa Brazil Ferrari-Ferrari 1m 21.585s

10. Kamui Kobayashi Japan BMW Sauber-Ferrari 1m 21.984s

11. Adrian Sutil Germany Force India-Mercedes 1m 21.985s

12. Pedro de la Rosa Spain BMW Sauber-Ferrari 1m 22.026s

13. Nico Hulkenberg Germany Williams-Cosworth 1m 22.131s

14. Vitaly Petrov Russia Renault-Renault 1m 22.139s*

15. Sebastien Buemi Switzerland Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1m 22.191s

16. Jaime Alguersuari Spain Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1m 22.207s

17. Vitantonio Liuzzi Italy Force India-Mercedes 1m 22.854s

18. Rubens Barrichello Brazil Williams-Cosworth 1m 23.125s

19. Jarno Trulli Italy Lotus-Cosworth 1m 24.674s

20. Heikki Kovalainen Finland Lotus-Cosworth 1m 24.748s

21. Timo Glock Germany Virgin-Cosworth 1m 25.475s*

22. Lucas di Grassi Brazil Virgin-Cosworth 1m 25.556s*

23. Karun Chandhok India HRT-Cosworth 1m 26.750s*

24. Bruno Senna Brazil HRT-Cosworth 1m 27.122s

all times unofficial

* denotes driver due to take five-place penalty

Comments are now closed

Red Bull are about a second ahead without an F-Duct. Which will be useless in Monaco for all those teams relying on it. Chances are Red Bull will have one for Turkey. So 2 – 3 seconds ahead?

I think the standout is Kobayashi. Will we see him fight like the end of last year?

Report this comment

This year championship looks a bit similar to last year. Last year Red bull and Mclaren where taking points off one another allowing brawn to win. This year it looks like its Mclaren and Ferrari will be taking points off one another while Red Bull wins. Ok there is a difference that Red bull has bigger advantage then brawn last year… Hope the Red Bull remains unreliable and they have to fight for the championship…

Report this comment

“Last point, don’t u think the FIA should deliberately we the track at any random moment at every race??”

Wee the track? Absolutely. Nothing like ten thousand liters of urine to spice up the race. However, they should also consider ball bearings, snipers and sudden roadworks.

Report this comment

Similar? Will be identical

Report this comment